Yoga & Essential Olis

Everyday Oils COllection 1024x768

Young Living therapeutic grade oils are a wonderful tool for deepening your yoga practice. The ancient Rishi’s  who were the first ones to explore the energetic systems of the body taught each Chakra relates to our spiritual and physical health in some way. Many people believe the science of Yoga is a technique or exercise that was developed to help cultivate health and flexibility; however, it also works to promote spiritual and mental health.

Just like our physical body takes in food, our energetic body collects information and energy from the outside world through our Chakra system. The Chakras not only "receive" energy, but they also digest it or process it. The energy and information disseminated through a system of channels known as nadis or meridians. There are over 200 Chakras throughout the body, but there are 7 major Chakras.

The 7 major Chakras on the body also correspond to the major nerve plexuses of the body and the glands of the endocrine system. The glands of the system provide a communication network that controls a huge number of physiological processes. The Endocrine system secretes hormones directly into the blood stream, rather than through a duct, to regulate activity in other parts of the body. It is instrumental in regulating metabolism, growth, development, puberty, tissue function, and also plays a part in determining mood

You will intensify your experience of Yoga or your experience of balancing your Chakras by combining Yoga with the Young Living oils, but you can also choose just to work with the oils.

When your intention is to balance your Chakras, it's a good idea to consider the glands as well as the polarity of each particular Chakra. In this context, when I use the word "polarity" I am referring to energetic opposites.  For example if you feel you are stuck, the polarity of "stuckness" would be movement or flow. If you feel you are always active, then the polarity would be stillness. I think understanding the polarity will give you a better grasp of the energetics of each Chakra.

There are a lot of other oils and yoga postures for each of the Chakras, but this is just a starting point. If you want to learn more, I suggest you attend our Aroma Chakra Balancing class. Watch for our calendar for upcoming classes or request to host a class in your yoga studio or favorite location.

Sometimes people ask me, what are the best oils to work with for my Chakras. I think working with our  Start Living Kit is a fantastic way to begin. Click on the link to contact me about ordering your Start LIving with Everyday Oils Kit .


I have listed one yoga pose for each Chakra and one oil, but in reality, there are several choices of oils and poses that that can help Chakra. For more information, attend our Aroma Chakra Balancing class.


First Chakra - Root Chakra/Muladhara 

Element: Earth

Oil: Valor 

Yoga Pose: Tadasana

Location: Base of Spine

Color: Red

The Root Chakra has to do with our physical identity and survival. It is associated with the fight or flight response and survival. From a polarity standpoint, the Root Chakra is associated with security vs. fear.Physically, the Root Chakra governs sexuality.  Spiritually, the Root Chakra  governs a sense of security. Mentally it governs stability. Emotionally it governs sensuality.   The Root Chakra, even though it is at the base of the spine, is linked to the adrenal glands, the kidneys and the spinal column. This is where our divine energy/kundalini rests until it is awakened to flow upwards toward the Crown Chakra. 

Second: Sacral Chakra/Navel/Svadisthana

Element: Water

Oil: Peace & Calming 

Yoga Pose: Pigeon Pose

Location: Lower abdomen, just below the navel

Color: Orange

The Sacral Chakra has to do with flow vs. stagnation. Generally speaking, the Sacral Chakra is associated with giving and receiving pleasure. This is the foundation of our emotional body. Physically, the Sacral Chakra governs reproduction.  Mentally it governs creativity. Emotionally the Sacral Chakra is connected to emotional intelligence, creation, nurturing and pleasure. Although the Root Chakra is the resting place for our divine energy,the true abode of Divine Mother or what we call the life creative force is in the Sacral Chakra. The Sacral Chakra is associated with the female ovaries, male testes, liver and kidney.

Third Chakra: Solar Plexus/Manipurna

Element: Fire

Oil: Lemon

Yoga Pose: Cat Cow with Lion's Breath

Location: Below the breasts and above the navel

Color: Yellow

Physically, the third Chakra governs digestion,mentally it governs personal power, emotionally it governs expansiveness and spiritually. If this chakra is under active, people can suffer from sluggishness or malfunctions of the digestive system. This can look like a  weakness in the body, indigestion, stomach, intestinal, and colon problems. If this chakra is over active, it can manifest as domineering and aggressive. 

From a polarity standpoint, the Solar Plexus has to do with personal power vs frustration/resentment. Anger can mean too much self-power, everything feels like an up hill struggle and conflict afer conflict. Too little self-power makes everything feel too demanding. We can also be frustrated by others placing too many demands on us.

Fourth Chakra: Heart/Anahata

Element: Air

Oil: Joy

Yoga Pose: Bridge

Location: The sternum - between the breasts

Color: Green

The Heart Chakra (4th Chakra) is the center of compassion, love, group consciousness and is spiritually associated with “oneness” and all that is. From a polarity standpoint, the heart chakra has to do with Understanding vs. Judgement. The sense of touch is associated with this chakra. 

Fifth Chakra: Throat/Visuddha

Element: Ether

Oil: Peppermint

Yoga Pose: Lion's Pose

Location: Between the breasts; spreads outward from Sternum

Color: Blue

The Heart Chaka is the chakra of pure relationships with others and of playful detachment. From a polarity standpoint, the Heart Chakra has to do with communication and expression vs holding back. This Chakra is associated with the sense of hearing. he Throat Chakra is blue and is associated with expression.  When we fail to speak our truth, we may experience a sore throat, sore neck or even lose our voice.  The corresponding sense is hearing. 

Sixth Chakra: Third Eye/Ajna

Element:  Light

Oil: Blue Spruce

Yoga Pose: Child's Pose

Location: About an inch above the bridge of the nose

Color: Purple

This chakra is the gate which opens the way for our consciousness  (kundalini) to ascend to its final destination, which is the seventh center. This is the centre where wisdom and intuition develop. It is about vision vs. illusion.

On a physical level, the third eye is connected to the pituitary gland. It communicates with the entire endocrine system and also connects to the central nervous system via the hypothalamus.  The hypothalamus controls many of our hormones. 

Seventh Chakra: Crown Chakra

Oil: Frankincense

Yoga Pose: Savasana

Location: Top of the head

Color: Violet/White

Just as the root chakra reaches down into the earth, the crown chakra reaches upward into spirit. Sahasara chakra is violet/white. It integrates all the chakras with their respective qualities. It is the last milestone of the evolution of human awareness. 

This chakra gives us the direct, absolute perception of reality. It symbolizes detachment from illusion - an essential element in obtaining a direct experience of the truth that one is all and all are one. There is no “sense” associated with this chakra as it is considered “beyond the senses.”  © Carla Sridevi Cohen 2012